Home | deutsch  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Discover InsideScience on
Facebook-Button Youtube-Button Vimeo-Button

Our coordination team is
very happy to answer any
and all questions about
InsideScience:

Contact People

Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha
Scientific coordinatior
Jesús Muñoz Morcillo

Project Coordination
Anna Moosmüller
Editing
Klaus Rümmele
Coordination of film production and distribution

Public Science and New Media

A Conference on the Role of Web 2.0 Culture in the Informal Communication of Scientific Knowledge, 3 – 4 December 2011.

With Web 2.0, public science has become both more diverse and more attractive, yet it still faces the challenge of conducting an open and critical dialogue. In order to have a presence on the Internet, academia must partially give up its rigid monopoly over definitions and develop a language that is more generally comprehensible—a language that not only arouses an acceptance of research and a fascination for it, but also forms the foundation for a public dialogue.

More and more scientific institutions are therefore calling attention to their own programs in social networks, are setting up video-sharing websites with their own content, or are twittering their events calendars. The institution of the museum has also discovered the potential of new media as informal places of learning. But is this the whole story? Are there certain strategies that allow for discourses to be initiated and encouraged?

The scientific symposium “Public Science and New Media. The Role of Web 2.0 Culture in the Informal Communication of Scientific Knowledge” will answer these questions and discuss open Internet dialogues, modern methods of communication, and interactive media. The participants of the InsideScience project will present their findings at the conference.

The conference is taking place on 3 – 4 December in the ZKM | Centre for Art and Media Karlsruhe. Undergraduates and doctoral students, as well as all other interested parties, are invited to this interdisciplinary symposium. Admission is free.

The complete conference program is available as a PDF.

 

Impressions from the Scientific Symposium

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
InsideScience entdecken
Facebook-Button Youtube-Button Vimeo-Button

Für alle Fragen rund um
InsideScience
steht die Koordinationsstelle
gerne zur Verfügung:

AnsprechpartnerInnen

Prof. Dr. Caroline Y. Robertson-von Trotha
Wissenschaftliche Leitung
Jesús Muñoz Morcillo
Projektkoordination
Anna Moosmüller
Redaktion
Dr. Klaus Rümmele
Koordination der Filmproduktion und Verbreitung

Public Science und Neue Medien

Tagung zur Rolle der Web 2.0-Kultur in der informellen Wissenschaftsvermittlung am 3. bis 4. Dezember 2011

Mit dem Web 2.0 ist die Öffentliche Wissenschaft (Public Science) vielfältiger und attraktiver geworden, sie steht jedoch vor der Herausforderung, einen offenen und kritischen Dialog zu betreiben. Um im Internet sichtbar zu werden, muss die Academia ihre starre Definitionshoheit teilweise aufgeben und eine verständliche Sprache entwickeln, die nicht nur Akzeptanz und Faszination für die Forschung weckt, sondern vor allem die Grundlage für einen öffentlichen Diskurs bildet.

Immer mehr Wissenschaftsinstitutionen machen daher in sozialen Netzwerken auf ihr eigenes Programm aufmerksam richten Videoportale mit eigenem Content ein oder twittern ihren Veranstaltungskalender. Auch die Institution Museum hat das Potenzial der Neuen Medien als informellen Lernort entdeckt. Aber ist es damit getan? Gibt es bestimmte Strategien, Diskurse zu initiieren und zu fördern?

Das Wissenschaftssymposium „Public Science und Neue Medien. Die Rolle der Web 2.0-Kultur in der informellen Wissenschaftsvermittlung“ beantwortet diese Fragen und diskutiert über offene Netzdialoge, moderne Kommunikationswege sowie interaktive Medien. Während der Tagung präsentieren die Beteiligten des Projektes InsideScience ihre bisherigen Ergebnisse.

Die Tagung findet am 3. bis 4. Dezember im ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe statt. Zum interdisziplinären Symposium sind Studierende, Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden sowie alle Interessierten herzlich eingeladen. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Hier gibt es das vollständige Programm auch als PDF.

 

Impressionen vom Wissenschaftssymposium