Home | deutsch | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

"The commitment to dialogue with the public must not be considered something detrimental to scientific reputation, but rather a quality that enhances that reputation."

PUSH-Memorandum, 1999

Humanoid Robots – Learning and Cooperating Multimodal Robots

Robots helping people in everyday life—this is the vision that the scientists of this collaborative research project (SFB) are working toward. Their goal is the development of a robot that resembles humans. This robot is to have eyes, ears, arms and legs,

Roboter in der Küche

“In order for robots to actually be accepted by humans, they should be as similar to humans as possible,” stresses Professor Rüdiger Dillmann, spokesperson for the collaborative research project. But this means more than merely a human exterior. The robot is also supposed to move via a system that imitates human motion. “It will therefore be possible for people to develop trust in an intuitive interaction with the robot,” says Prof. Dillman. Communication must also occur intuitively for people. People must be able to understand the robot’s language and properly interpret its gestures. The robot should be able to have conversations with others, and to get to know new people and new objects.

The scientists see the household as one example of a future field of activity for the robots, and they also believe that these diligent helpers will be able to provide services in the public and commercial domains. It is conceivable that humanoid robots will one day make it possible for elderly or handicapped people to lead independent lives in their own homes.

Over 40 scientists and 13 research institutions are taking part in this collaborative research project, which is led by the Department of Computer Science. These scientists belong to the Departments of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Information Technology, Mechanical Engineering, and Sport Sciences, as well as the Karlsruhe Research Centre, the Computer Science Research Centre, and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (IITB). The collaborative research project is working with multiple prototypes that are constantly being redeveloped and refined.

Further Information: SFB 588

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

"Das Engagement für den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit darf dem wissenschaftlichen Ruf nicht abträglich sein, es sollte zu einem zusätzlichen Merkmal wissenschaftlicher Reputation werden."

PUSH-Memorandum, 1999

Humanoide Roboter – Lernende und kooperierende multimodale Roboter

Roboter helfen Menschen im Alltag – an der Vision arbeiten Wissenschaftler im SFB „Humanoide Roboter“. Ziel ist die Entwicklung eines menschenähnlichen Roboters. Er soll Augen, Ohren, Arme und Beine haben und in der Lage sein, zu lernen.

Roboter in der Küche

„Damit die Roboter tatsächlich vom Menschen akzeptiert werden, sollten sie so menschenähnlich wie möglich sein“, betont Professor Rüdiger Dillmann, Sprecher des Sonderforschungsbereichs. Hierzu gehört aber nicht nur eine menschenähnliche Gestalt. Der Roboter soll sich auch mit Hilfe eines Systems fortbewegen, das die Bewegungen eines Menschen imitiert. „So hat der Mensch bei der engen Kooperation Vertrauen, ein intuitiver Umgang wird möglich“, sagt Prof. Dillmann. Intuitiv für den Menschen muss auch die Kommunikation ablaufen. Seine Sprache muss verstanden, Gesten richtig interpretiert werden. Der Roboter sollte in der Lage sein, Dialoge mit dem Menschen zu führen, neue Menschen und neue Gegenstände kennen zu lernen.

Als zukünftige Einsatzbereiche der fleißigen Helfer sehen die Wissenschaftler beispielsweise den Haushalt, aber auch Dienstleistungen im öffentlichen oder gewerblichen Bereich. Es ist vorstellbar, dass humanoide Roboter einmal älteren oder behinderten Menschen ein unabhängiges Leben in der gewohnten Umgebung ermöglichen.

An dem Fakultät für Informatik zugeordneten Sonderforschungsbereich sind mehr als 40 Wissenschaftler und 13 Forschungsinstitute beteiligt. Diese gehören den Fakultäten für Informatik, Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik, Maschinenbau und Sportwissenschaften sowie dem Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, dem Forschungszentrum Informatik und der Fraunhofergesellschaft (IITB) an. Der Sonderforschungsbereich arbeitet mit mehreren Prototypen, die ständig weiterentwickelt werden.

Weitere Informationen: SFB 588