Home | deutsch | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

"The commitment to dialogue with the public must not be considered something detrimental to scientific reputation, but rather a quality that enhances that reputation."

PUSH-Memorandum, 1999

Computational Particle Physics

Albert Einstein revolutionized physics all on his own. Yet if today’s physicists want to see past the confines of their own current theories, the cooperation of many researchers from various institutes is necessary.

Physicists from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the RWTH Aachen University, and the Humboldt University in Berlin, together with DESY (the German Electron Synchotron) in Zeuthen, are attempting to rewrite fundamental laws of nature through extremely precise calculations. Toward this end, they joined forces four years ago to form the collaborative research project Tranregio 9 (SFB TR9) entitled “Computational Particle Physics”.

Ein Teilchen fliegt"Every physical theory is provisional,” says Professor Johann Kühn of the Institute for Theoretical Physics at KIT. “Our conception of the smallest particles and the forces acting between them—the Standard Model—has some loose ends,” stresses the spokesperson for SFB TR9. This model cannot describe the conditions immediately after the Big Bang, nor can it explain why, practically speaking, only matter—and not antimatter—exists in the universe today. “With our calculations, we aim to make precise predictions for experiments at the new particle accelerators.” This should allow for the smallest deviations from the Standard Model to be found, which could in turn pave the way for a comprehensive theory. This is similar to how the precise determination of the positions of stars during a solar eclipse in the year 1919 demonstrated that the sun deflects starlight ever so slightly, which proved Einstein’s theory of relativity. Kühn expects that physicists will be looking beyond the borders of the Standard Model within the next five years.

To most people, Einstein’s formulas seem extraordinarily complicated. Yet today, theoretical physicists are working with much more complex equations—equations that pose difficulties even for computers. With the aid of parallel computers and programmes that they themselves have developed, the researchers of SFB TR9 have brought the Standard Model equations under control. The main focus of the Karlsruhe physicists are the algebraic calculations of the forces that act between elementary particles, while researchers in Berlin simulate the movements of these particles, and researchers in Aachen focus on the transformations of quarks, which are the building blocks of atomic nuclei. This theoretical work is “absolutely necessary” in order to interpret the measurements at the new particle accelerators, says Kühn.

Further Information: SFB/TR 9

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

"Das Engagement für den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit darf dem wissenschaftlichen Ruf nicht abträglich sein, es sollte zu einem zusätzlichen Merkmal wissenschaftlicher Reputation werden."

PUSH-Memorandum, 1999

Computergestützte theoretische Teilchenphysik (Computational Particle Physics)

Albert Einstein revolutionierte die Physik im Alleingang. Wenn Physiker heute über den Tellerrand ihrer gängigen Theorien hinaus blicken wollen, bedarf es dagegen der Zusammenarbeit vieler Forscher über Campusgrenzen hinweg.

Physiker des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule in Aachen und der Berliner Humboldt-Universität zusammen mit dem Deutschen Elektronensynchotron (DESY) in Zeuthen versuchen mit äußerst präzisen Rechnungen fundamentale Naturgesetze neu zu schreiben. Deshalb haben sie sich vor vier Jahren zum Sonderforschungsbereich Transregio 9 (SFB TR9) „Computergestützte Theoretische Teilchenphysik“ zusammengeschlossen.

„Jede physikalische Theorie isEin Teilchen fliegtt vorläufig“, sagt Professor Johann Kühn vom Institut für Theoretische Physik des KIT. „Unsere Vorstellung von den kleinsten Teilchen und den Kräften zwischen ihnen, das Standardmodell, hat lose Enden“, stellt der Sprecher des SFB TR9 fest. Es kann die Bedingungen unmittelbar nach dem Urknall nicht beschreiben und auch nicht erklären, warum heute praktisch nur Materie im Universum existiert und keine Antimaterie. „Wir wollen mit unseren Rechnungen Präzisionsvorhersagen für Experimente an neuen Teilchenbeschleunigern machen.“ So sollen kleinste Abweichungen vom Standardmodell gefunden werden, die den Weg zu einer umfassenderen Theorie weisen könnten. Ähnlich wie die präzise Bestimmung von Sternpositionen bei einer Sonnenfinsternis im Jahr 1919 zeigte, dass die Sonne das Sternlicht geringfügig ablenkt und damit Einsteins Relativitätstheorie bewies. Kühn erwartet, dass die Physiker innerhalb der kommenden fünf Jahre über die Grenzen des Standardmodells hinaus blicken werden.

Den meisten Menschen erscheinen Einsteins Formeln unendlich kompliziert. Heute arbeiten theoretische Physiker mit viel komplexeren Gleichungen, die selbst für Computer kaum beherrschbar sind. Die Forscher der SFB TR9 haben mit Hilfe von Parallelrechnern und eigens entwickelten Programmen die Gleichungen des Standardmodells in den Griff bekommen. Der Schwerpunkt der Karlsruher Physiker liegt bei algebraischen Berechnungen der Kräfte zwischen den Elementarteilchen, die Berliner Forscher simulieren ihre Bewegungen, während sich die Aachener Forscher auf Umwandlungen von Quarks, den Bausteinen der Atomkerne, konzentrieren. Diese theoretischen Arbeiten seien „absolute Voraussetzung“ für die Interpretation der Messungen an neuen Teilchenbeschleunigern, sagt Kühn.

Weitere Informationen: SFB/TR 9