Home | deutsch | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Discover InsideScience on
Facebook-Button Youtube-Button Vimeo-Button

"The commitment to dialogue with the public must not be considered something detrimental to scientific reputation, but rather a quality that enhances that reputation."

PUSH-Memorandum, 1999

Public Science - A Necessary Dialogue

Research that is public and available to everyone? “InsideScience” would like to make complex themes accessible and comprehensible to a broad public.

Menschen stehen im FoyerThe name says it all: With InsideScience, the goal is to make new research questions and discoveries accessible to the general public. But more knowledge does not necessarily imply a greater acceptance of science. The first prerequisite for understanding is a common language. Is this a turn away from technical jargon? Yes, but not at the expense of content.

In addition to removing linguistic barriers, another goal is to facilitate practical access to science. Not everyone is able or willing to approach experts or take advantage of the public offerings at research institutions. This is where the work of InsideScience begins. With its lectures, discussions, exhibits and workshops, InsideScience is taking measures to approach and engage the public by going out of the institutes and into town halls, concert halls and schools. Yet here too, the rule is accessibility, not oversimplification. Science is not stigmatized as a one-sided event that is merely used for PR campaigns. Transparency and dialogue are the key objectives here.

Since dialogue implies two participants, InsideScience also obtains inspiration for further research from the public. A fundamental knowledge of the general population’s questions and opinions is an absolutely necessity for scientists. A lack of interaction with the public is harmful to the democratic legitimization of science.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
InsideScience entdecken
Facebook-Button Youtube-Button Vimeo-Button

"Das Engagement für den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit darf dem wissenschaftlichen Ruf nicht abträglich sein, es sollte zu einem zusätzlichen Merkmal wissenschaftlicher Reputation werden."

PUSH-Memorandum, 1999

Öffentliche Wissenschaft – Ein notwendiger Dialog

Forschung öffentlich und für jedermann? Die „Öffentliche Wissenschaft“ möchte einem breiten Publikum komplexe Themen in verständlicher Form nahe bringen.
Menschen stehen im Foyer

Der Name ist Programm: Bei der Öffentlichen Wissenschaft gilt es, einem fachfremden Publikum neue Forschungserkenntnisse und -fragen zugänglich zu machen. Das Vorhaben lässt sich nicht auf die Bereitstellung von Informationen beschränken. Schließlich hat ein Mehr an Wissen keinesfalls automatisch eine höhere Akzeptanz von Wissenschaft zur Folge. Erst eine gemeinsame Sprache kann zum Verständnis führen. Eine Abkehr vom Fachchinesisch also? Ja, aber nicht auf Kosten der Inhalte.

Neben der Beseitigung von Sprachbarrieren, gilt es auch den praktischen Zugang zur Wissenschaft zu vereinfachen. Nicht jeder traut sich, Experten anzusprechen oder öffentliche Angebote der Forschungseinrichtungen anzunehmen. Hier setzt die Öffentliche Wissenschaft an. Mit Vorträgen, Diskussionen, Ausstellungen oder Workshops geht sie auf die Bürger zu – raus aus den Institutionen, rein in die Rathäuser, Konzertsäle oder Schulen. Und auch hier verfolgt sie das Gebot der Zugänglichkeit, nicht der Verflachung. Wissenschaft wird nicht zu einem einseitigen Event stigmatisiert und lediglich für PR-Kampagnen gebraucht. Das Ziel heißt Transparenz und Dialog.

Da zu einem Dialog zwei Beteiligte gehören, trägt die Öffentliche Wissenschaft auch Impulse aus der Gesellschaft an die Forschung heran. Grundlegende Kenntnisse der Fragen und Meinungen innerhalb der Bevölkerung sind für Wissenschaftler unbedingt vonnöten. Eine fehlende Interaktion mit den Bürgern schadet einer demokratischen Legitimation von Wissenschaft.